West Texas ASCS 305 Sprints


Carney dominates West Texas ASCS 305 opener

Carney dominates West Texas ASCS 305 opener

EL PASO, Texas (January 25, 2014) While the most of the country is in the dead of winter, a dozen ASCS 305cid drivers took to the sandy clay of the El Paso Speedway Park for $1,000 to win on Saturday with John Carney II taking the DGS Motorsports No. 74B to his tenth victory in MVT West Texas ASCS 305cid competition.

Earning the pole of the night’s 25 lap feature, Carney jumped to the point at the start and left all but one a lap down. Third starting Royal Jones denied Carney the perfect record of lapping the field off the final turn with Wes Wofford on the final podium step from sixth. Mike Wells and Amarillo's Rick Lovelady completed the top five.

The MVT West Texas ASCS 305cid Region resumes competition with the Southwest ASCS 305cid Shootout at the El Paso Speedway Park on March 14 and Southern New Mexico Speedway on March 15 with each night worth $3,000 to the winner.

MVT West Texas ASCS 305cid presented by Border International
El Paso Speedway Park - El Paso, Texas
Saturday, January 25, 2014

Car Count: 12

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 131-Royal Jones; 2. 74B-John Carney II; 3. 27-Cesar Fuentes; 4. 18-Lorne Wofford; 5. 56-Mike Wells; 6. 19-Wes Wofford; 7. 3D-Don Reynolds; 8. 2-Tyler Jackson; 9. 7-Rick Lovelady; 10. 98-Jerry Gonzalez; 11. 99.5-Derek Demartino; 12. 6U-Anton Salopek

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 74B-John Carney II[1]; 2. 131-Royal Jones[3]; 3. 19-Wes Wofford[6]; 4. 56-Mike Wells[4]; 5. 7-Rick Lovelady[9]; 6. 27-Cesar Fuentes[2]; 7. 98-Jerry Gonzalez[10]; 8. 18-Lorne Wofford[5]; 9. 3D-Don Reynolds[8]; 10. 2-Tyler Jackson[7]; 11. 99.5-Derek Demartino[12]; 12. 6U-Anton Salopek[11]

Leader(s): John Carney II (1-25)

Photo Credit: Jim Rosas