West Texas ASCS 305 Sprints


$30,000 purse on tap for West Texas ASCS 305 Region

$30,000 purse on tap for West Texas ASCS 305 Region

TULSA, Okla. (March 11, 2014) - A combined $30,000 in total prize money with a potential winner's share of $6,000 is on the line for the West Texas ASCS 305 Region presented by Mesilla Valley Transportation.

Expecting some of the biggest names in ASCS competition, the El Paso Speedway Park in El Paso, Texas begins the weekend on Friday, March 14 with the 305 Smackdown. Saturday, March 15 will see events shift north to the Southern New Mexico Speedway in Las Cruces, N.M.

While the 2014 edition of the 305cid weekend is the first for El Paso, Lorne Wofford added his name to the list of winners in 2013 at the ASCS 305 Sprint Car Shootout in Las Cruces; joining his son Wes Wofford who topped the event in 2011.

John Carney II is the only two-time winner of the New Mexico show, taking the inaugural event in 2010 and 2012.

The El Paso Speedway Park is located 6.5 mile east of Loop 375 off Montana Ave. in El Paso, Texas. Events on Friday, March 14 are scheduled to begin at 6:30 P.M. (MT). A practice will be held on Thursday, March 13 beginning at 6:00 P.M.

The Southern New Mexico Speedway is located 11miles west of Las Cruces, N.M. off I-10, Exit 132 to the south frontage road. Races on Saturday, March 15 are scheduled to kick off at 6:30 P.M. (MT).

An entry fee for drivers is due both days if wanting to compete. Each day is $150.

For more information, or to enter, contact the Speedways at 575-524-7913 or log onto http://www.snmspeedway.com.

The ASCS 305cid division enters its third year of competition. The West Texas 305cid Region presented by MVT will compete 23 times in a bi-weekly scheduled between El Paso and Las Cruces. To keep up-to-date, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Past Winners: Southern New Mexico Speedway - Las Cruces, N.M.

2010 Prelim Winner: Bud Kaeding
2010 Champion: John Carney II

2011 Prelim Winner: Jeff Swindell
2011 Champion: Wes Wofford

2012 Prelim Winner: Johnny Herrera
2012 Champion: John Carney II

2013 Prelim Winner: Christopher Bell
2013 Champion: Lorne Wofford

Photo Credit: Jim Rosas